UK Announces Mandatory Hotel Quarantine For Red List Countries


UK announces mandatory hotel quarantine for red list countries

UAS Operations | - 02/01/2021

People traveling to the UK from high-risk countries will have to quarantine in government-approved hotels from February 15, it has been announced.

The rule will apply to areas associated with new coronavirus variants including South America, Portugal, and some countries in Southern Africa, and details of the approved hotels and procedures will be confirmed soon.

The UK is currently in lockdown and all travel corridors have been suspended; the following 33 countries have been placed on its red list:

  • 安哥拉
  • 阿根廷
  • 玻利维亚
  • 博茨瓦纳
  • 巴西
  • 布隆迪
  • 佛得角
  • 智利
  • 哥伦比亚
  • The Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • 厄瓜多尔
  • Eswatini
  • 法属圭亚那
  • 圭亚那
  • 莱索托
  • 马拉维
  • 毛里求斯
  • 莫桑比克
  • 纳米比亚
  • 巴拿马
  • 巴拉圭
  • 秘鲁
  • Portugal (including Madeira and the Azores)
  • 卢旺达
  • 塞舌尔
  • 南非
  • 苏里南
  • 坦桑尼亚
  • United Arab Emirates (UAE)
  • 乌拉圭
  • 委内瑞拉
  • 赞比亚
  • 津巴布韦

The UAE, Burundi, and Rwanda are the latest countries to be added to the list that mostly includes countries where new COVID variants have been identified.

British nationals, Irish nationals, long-term visa holders, and UK residents can enter the UK from these countries but must quarantine for 10 days unless they meet the criteria listed on the Government exemption list.

They will also need to have proof of a negative COVID-19 test before traveling;  failure to have this could result in a fixed penalty fine of £500.

Similarly, if an operator flies a passenger without proof of a negative PCR test who does not qualify for an exemption, then the operator will be liable for a fixed penalty of £2,000 per passenger.

All inbound crew and passengers must complete the online passenger locator form and have their electronic receipt available on arrival.

Crew will also need to show their crew ID to Border Force.

For support with your flight operations to the UK, contact UAS