New EU Regulation – TCAS II Version 7.1


New EU Regulation – TCAS II Version 7.1

UAS Operations | - 02/04/2016
Go back to main page
Featured, Planning and Operating

Compliance with the European Commission regulation under Rule No. 1332/2011 began on December 1, 2015. This introduced a mandatory carriage of ACAS II ((TCAS II)) version 7.1 within European Union airspace with a maximum take-off weight exceeding 5700 KG or authorization to carry over 19 passengers.

The objective of this rule is to ensure safety in response to some concerns that existed following version 7.0.

Safety issues identified in version 7.0:

1- Unintentional opposite pilot response to “Adjust vertical speed, adjust” RAs
2- Level busts following “Adjust vertical speed adjust” RAs
3- Flaws in reversal logic

TCAS II version 7.1 will address the following safety issues:

1- “Level off, level off” RA
2- Improvements to reversal logic

Possible exemptions from the requirements of being equipped with version 7.1:

1- When the aircraft is registered in an EU member state, or is registered in a third country, but when an EU member state is responsible for the operations, a 14.4 exemption should be requested from the national aviation authority responsible for the operation.

2- When the aircraft is not European registered, or a non-EU state is responsible for the operational approval, exemptions need to be requested from each European State in whose airspace the aircraft intends to operate.

Flights without TCAS V7.1 are no longer allowed, technically there is no exemption from Eurocontrol and Eurocontrol is not granting any exceptions. This restriction based on EU Law, issued by EASA and EASA is not responsible for enforcing this regulation. It is the countries decision whether they exempt or not.

Receiving an exemption from every member state is unlikely, and requirements for each state are different. However, for concerned authorities to consider permission requests, you must submit an exemption application along with the documents/certificates of operators/aircraft:

• Air Operator Certificate with Ops Spec
• Certificate of Airworthiness
• Certificate of Registration
• Certificate of Insurance
• Noise Certificate

It’s important to note that when an aircraft is operating on a Special Flight Permit or a Limited Certificate of Airworthiness, authorities may apply additional charges.

For more information see: