The EU Shuts Airspace To All Russian Aircraft


The EU Shuts Airspace To All Russian Aircraft

UAS Operations | - 02/28/2022
Go back to main page
Aviation, Featured, News

The European Union has closed its airspace to all Russian aircraft.

Strengthening sanctions in response to Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, the EU proposed the prohibition on all Russian-owned, registered, or controlled aircraft on February 27.

From now on, aircraft owned, chartered, or otherwise controlled by a Russian native or citizen will not be able to land in, take off from, or overfly EU territory. 


All aircraft owned, chartered or operated, or otherwise controlled by citizens of the Russian Federation and operators holding air operator certificate (AOC) issued by the Russian Federation authorities are prohibited to enter, exit, or overfly airspace of the (state) except flights for humanitarian or SAR purposes and aircraft in emergency or flights with special permission of the Ministry of Transport of the state.

 For more information, visit the official website of the European Business Aviation Association (EBAA). 

For support with your flight operations to Europe, contact UAS