Bulgaria And Romania to Join The Schengen Area In March 


Bulgaria and Romania to join the Schengen area in March 

Go back to main page
Aviation, Featured, News

Bulgaria and Romania to join the Schengen area in March – Romania and Bulgaria will officially join the border free Schengen Zone from March 31.  

This means passport-free air and sea travel between these two countries and the twenty-six other member states.  

Entry requirements will become substantially easier for both passengers and crew.  

Travelers arriving from other Schengen zone countries will no longer have to show passports on arrival and will not be subject to checks. 

The border-free Schengen Area guarantees free movement to more than 425 million EU citizens, along with non-EU nationals living in the EU or visiting the EU as tourists, students, or for business.  

The two Balkan states joined the EU in 2007 and have been trying to enter Schengen for more than 10 years. 

For support with your flight operations to Romania, Bulgaria, or anywhere in Europe, contact UAS